Skip to main content

Bell Tower Ball Awards Wayne and Rubye Reid Award

Brad Merkl '86 and Stanford Jennings '84

Brad Merkl is president and owner of the Atlanta-based Metropolitan Companies, a role he has embraced for 27 years. Comprising the Metropolitan Companies is Metropolitan Technologies, a technology and solutions provider for digital marketing and national direct marketing industries; Metropolitan Card Solutions, a credit and gift card production and fulfillment company; and M4, a social media and strategic digital marketing company.

Merkl serves the Atlanta community as a volunteer and leader, with a particular passion for the homeless population. He is a past president of CCB Charity Benefit, an organization that received the Hope Award in recognition for its work to improve the lives of Atlanta’s less fortunate. He has served on the boards of directors for the American Seniors Association, Inc. and McCullough Group, Inc. He is also a member of First Baptist Church of Atlanta, where he has taught third grade Sunday School for 27 years.

Merkl graduated from Furman in 1986 with a degree in political science. He was a four-year football letterman and member of four Southern Conference championship teams. His considerable service to alma mater includes a term as Atlanta’s Young Alumni Director and as a current member of the Furman Football Players Association. For 15 years, Merkl has offered himself as a mentor and advisor to fellow Furman alumni. He has contributed to the professional success of others through resume consulting, interview coaching, and practice sales calls. He connects young Furman alumni with seasoned professionals in their areas of interest and dedicates himself to the career development of those who seek his guidance.

He and his wife Heather have three children.

The Reid Award is named in honor of Wayne '68 and Rubye Reid and recognizes alumni who have made significant contributions to the career development of Furman students.

Previous Recipients:

Bill Axmann ’59 Chad Bennett ’03 Frank Blackwell ’90 Hugh Carrol ’71
Dave Ellison ’72 Lillian Brock Flemming ’71 Brian Geppi ’04 Peter Griffin ’11
John Hough ’81 Lynne Daniel Ivey ’83 John McCarthy ’85 Clare Folio Morris ’83
Jeff Walker ’03 John Weatherford ’73

See all Bell Tower Awards