Skip to main content

Furman University Board of Trustees Approves Faculty Promotion and Tenure

Furman University

During its spring meeting on May 20, the Furman University Board of Trustees approved the promotions and/or tenure for a number of faculty members.

Eight members of the faculty were promoted to the rank of associate professor with tenure: Christopher T. Alvin (Computer Science), Loribeth M. Alvin (Mathematics), Matthew C. Cohen (Earth, Environmental and Sustainability Sciences), Linnea R. Freeman (Biology), Joseph J. Merry (Sociology), Christian R. Millichap (Mathematics), Laura L. Morris (English) and Claire E. Whitlinger (Sociology).

Mary Elizabeth Anderson (Chemistry) and Eunice Rojas (Modern Languages and Literatures) were granted tenure.

Eight faculty members were promoted to the rank of professor: Marianne Bessy (Modern Languages and Literatures), Nathaniel P.S. Cook (Economics), Michelle Horhota (Psychology), Jason C. Jones (Economics), Kenneth H. Kolb           (Sociology), W. D. Ross McClain (Art), Cinnamon A. Stetler (Psychology) and Joni Tevis (English).

John A. McArthur III (Communication Studies) was promoted to the rank of professor with tenure.

Laura E. Baker (Library) was promoted to the rank of associate librarian and Stephen T. Richardson (Library) was granted associate librarian emeritus status.

Six faculty members were granted emeritus professor status: T. Lloyd Benson (History), Robert E. Chance (Art), Susan S. D’Amato (Physics), Thomas W. Joiner (Music), Cherie C. Maiden (Modern Languages and Literatures) and A. Joseph Pollard II (Biology).

All promotions, tenure and emeritus statuses become effective Aug. 1.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Last updated .

white man in suit, Chuck Ellingsworth, room with students

Bonds 101: Students participate in live capital finance project

Debt financing is one way to fund large construction projects. Students get a front row seat in the process of bringing Furman bonds to market.

Furman to resume normal operations on Thursday

The university and Furman Police will continue to monitor the weather and campus conditions and provide updates as needed.

‘Open Spaces’ has room for mentoring and collaboration

Working on “Open Spaces,” an album set to be released Jan. 21, gave Adib Young '22 the chance to experience the process as both a composer and a performer with Professor Matt Olson.

Kapoor steps down as chief investment officer; Kenney to serve as interim

Kapoor joined Furman in 2007 as the university’s first dedicated head of investments.