Skip to main content

Chemistry professor Anderson receives Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award

Henry Dreyfus award
Mary Elizabeth Anderson (second from left) works with research students (from left) Ashley Weeks, Fabby Gonzalez and Tyler MacAlister.

Furman Associate Professor of Chemistry Mary Elizabeth (“Beth”) Anderson has been granted a 2019 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc.

The annual awards program supports the research and teaching efforts of talented, early-career faculty in the chemical sciences at undergraduate institutions. Granted to only eight faculty members nationally, the honor carries an unrestricted research award of $75,000.

henry dreyfus award
Associate Professor of Chemistry Mary Elizabeth (“Beth”) Anderson

Based on institutional nominations, the program provides discretionary funding to independent faculty members who have demonstrated leadership in original scholarly research of outstanding quality, substantially with undergraduates, as well as excellence and dedication in undergraduate education.

Anderson’s nomination package, “Bottom-Up Assembly of Nanomaterials: Investigating Fundamentals of Formation to Tailor Material Structure and Properties,” described her research group’s study of thin films and nanoparticles that are relevant for energy-related applications.

“Beth’s research with undergraduates is of the highest quality, and she has been exceptionally productive. Her enthusiasm in the classroom is an inspiration to her students and colleagues alike. We are fortunate to have her as part of the chemistry team at Furman,” said Department of Chemistry Professor and Chair Timothy Hanks.

This latest award from the Foundation marks Furman’s seventh, placing the university among the most decorated institutions receiving Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar awards.

A graduate of Samford University and Pennsylvania State University, Anderson joined the Furman faculty in fall 2018 after her promotion and tenure at Hope College, where she served eight years. In addition to her teaching responsibilities in general and analytical chemistry at Furman, her research focus is material science and surface chemistry with a special passion for exploring and capturing images on the nanoscale.

Since arriving at Furman, Anderson has received $371,965 in NSF funding for her proposal, “RUI: Exploring Synthesis, Tailoring Structure, Evaluating Properties, and Enabling Patterning of Surface-Anchored Framework Assemblies. Additionally in this first year, she has mentored six Furman research students, given five talks at professional meetings and universities, and submitted two research papers (one published and another in revision).

For more information, contact Furman’s News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107, or visit

About the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc.
The purpose of the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc. is to advance the science of chemistry, chemical engineering and related sciences as a means of improving human relations and circumstances throughout the world. Established in 1946 by chemist, inventor and businessman Camille Dreyfus as a memorial to his brother Henry, the Foundation became a memorial to both men when Camille Dreyfus died in 1956. Throughout its history, the Foundation has sought to take the lead in identifying and addressing needs and opportunities in the chemical sciences.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Last updated .

A Record-Breaking Giving Tuesday

The Furman family celebrated this year’s Giving Tuesday with a record number of dollars raised during the event.

Drone photo of the Furman Mall and the Milford Mall.

New growth: Latest phase of tree replacement begins in December

Trees along the Furman Mall will be replaced with longer-living species of oaks.

Sam Hayes '20 stands in front of the historical McClaren Medical Shelter

Sam Hayes ’20 brings passion for preserving historical buildings to Greenville

Charleston, South Carolina, native spent the summer working so save a pair of structures with deep ties to the city's African American community.

matthew baumgardner

Art by Baumgardner on display in library

Baumgardner's art is on display at the James B. Duke Library. The exhibition officially opens Dec. 6 with a reception at 6 p.m. in the Special Collections gallery.