Skip to main content

Awards spotlight outstanding leadership in service and diversity

student leadership
Nearly 40 students, staff and programs were recognized March 31 for stellar leadership in service and diversity.

The signs of spring are everywhere on campus—cherry blossoms, birds chirping, the Janie Earle Rose Garden on the cusp of unfurling its blooms. And while the environmental signs of the season are many, so are the awards that recognize Furman students, staff, programs and organizations that demonstrate outstanding leadership in service and diversity.

On March 31, the Division of Student Life and the Shucker Center for Leadership Development presented the Student Leadership Awards and Recognition Night. The event opened with a reception in Younts Conference Center, followed by a dinner punctuated with music from a student string quartet including Elliot Cihlar, Mary Pauline Sheridan-Rabideau, Savannah York and Chrissy Hicks.

Taking center stage for their accomplishments are these 2019 honorees:

Alfred S. Reid Memorial Award
Addison Smith ‘22
Griffin Mills ‘21
Zach Hughes ‘20
Will Sanders ‘19

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award
Caroline Daly ‘19

American Legion Medal (awarded to male and female seniors)
Payton Isner
Katherine West

Boundary Breaker Program of the Year
Dins Dialogue

Dan Joyner Outstanding Athletic Leader (awarded to male and female seniors)
Wade Smith
Virginia Poe

Furman’s Hall of Leaders Award for Excellence in Service and Leadership (seniors)
Patrick Fretwell
Akanksha Kaushik
Laurin Bixby
Marina Sorial
Sarah Bourlakas
Rob Cain
Lauren Duggar
Lauren Hood
Mariana Fuenmayor Llanos
Peyton Roth

Harry B. Shucker Outstanding Student Leader Award
Craig Yount ‘19

Joseph Vaughn Award
Chelsea McKelvey ‘19

Lillian Brock-Flemming Award
Muhammad Zakaria Shafqut ‘19

Max and Trude Heller Commitment to Community Award
Football Team

Student Organization of the Year
Religious Council

Student Organization Advisor of the Year
Rev. Kate Taber, Furman Office of Spiritual Life

The Leverette Sustainability Award
Chambers English ‘19

The President’s Award (awarded to male and female seniors)
Andy Teye
Colleen Christensen

Unsung Hero Award (seniors)
Tyler Eckstein
JaLisa Decker
Noah Trotter
Dorothy Spratlin

Willard A. Metcalf Personal Character Award
Quincy Mix ‘19

Winston Babb Memorial Award
Rosie Kim ‘22
Anna Ford Pittard ‘21
Savannah Carnahan ‘20
Bonnie Williams ‘19

For more information, contact Kimberly A. Keefer, director, Shucker Center for Leadership Development, at 864-294-3091, and

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Last updated .

Furman President Elizabeth Davis speaks at the 2018 WNE

Second annual Women’s Networking Event scheduled for Sept. 23

Panelists include Furman President Elizabeth Davis, Francie Heller, Sheryl Higgins, Shelby Dodson and Betsy Bloodworth '92.

johnny tremain

A new look at Johnny Tremain’s sexuality

Seeing the popular literary character through an LGBTQ lens could open new possibilities.


Furman boosts preparedness with trauma kits

Employees will be trained to be able to provide rapid medical care in the event of a life-threatening situation.

LaDavia Drummond Just ’02 stands behind a podium speaking.

Furman celebrates start of 2019-20 academic year with opening Convocation

LaDavia Drummond Just '02 spoke about her journey from homelessness in high school to Fulbright Scholar to teaching second-year medical students in Uganda.