Skip to main content

Furman Board of Trustees honored for leadership, governance

Furman’s board currently has 31 trustees and 11 trustees emeriti.

The Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB) has honored the Furman University Board of Trustees for its exceptional leadership and “strong focus on governance.”

Furman is one of six winners nationwide of the AGB’s John W. Nason Award for Board Leadership. AGB president Richard D. Legon said there were more than three dozen submissions for the award and the judges were unanimous in their decision to honor Furman.

The competition was judged by six higher education leaders and chaired by Phil Bredesen, former governor of Tennessee.

“Trustees play an essential role in guiding the university, and Furman has been fortunate to have had outstanding board members who care deeply about the university,” said Furman President Elizabeth Davis. “It would not have been possible to undertake a challenging initiative like The Furman Advantage without our Board of Trustees providing an extraordinary level of support and leadership. The board is certainly deserving of this award.”

According to the AGB, the honored boards “go above and beyond what boards should do, and instead take board-driven measures to advance their institutions in ways that truly matter.” The boards also demonstrate “initiative” and “unusual courage in the face of difficult circumstances.”

“It’s an honor to accept this award from the AGB on behalf of the Furman Board of Trustees, acknowledging the board’s dedication to service of our university,” said Alec Taylor, chair of the board and a 1975 graduate of the university. “But good governance is a community effort, and we want to thank the faculty, staff and students for their important contributions to this award as well. We gratefully accept this award and also recognize the efforts of all trustees who have served Furman over the years.”

Furman’s board currently has 31 trustees and 11 trustees emeriti. It provides leadership and guidance to the university while shaping its goals, policies and practices. The board meets at least three times each academic year.

The board’s efforts this past year to align its governance practices and structure with strategic initiatives, including The Furman Advantage, was the focus of its nomination for the Nason award. Trustees will accept the award in April at the AGB’s National Conference on Trusteeship, and AGB will feature Furman in a case study on board leadership in an upcoming issue of Trusteeship magazine.

AGB is the premier organization centered on governance in higher education. Founded in 1921, its membership includes 1,300 boards representing 1,900 colleges, universities and institutionally related foundations.

For more information, contact Furman’s News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107 and

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Last updated .

New Millennium Fellows tackle United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

Nine Furman students launch projects to advance U.N. goals such as zero hunger, climate action, good health and well-being and more.

Hispanic Heritage Month 2021 Events

National Hispanic American Heritage Month is from September 15 to October 15.

Celebrating 30 Years of Giving with His Largest Gift to Date

This year, Lee Alexander '84 marks 30 consecutive years of giving to Furman, and he is celebrating that by adding planned giving to his commitment.

An artisan weaves a basket in a scene from “The History of Sweetgrass Baskets,” a documentary by Alexis Hildenbrandt ’22.

And the Student Emmys go to… two Furman students

Alexis Hildenbrandt ’22 and Luke Harvin ’21 both filmed documentaries that won Southeastern Student Production Awards.