Skip to main content

Riley Center names fellows

Fifteen leaders in the afterschool and expanded learning fields nationwide have been selected as White-Riley-Peterson Policy Fellows as part of a partnership between The Riley Institute at Furman University and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation.

From September this year until end of May 2014, fellows will study afterschool and expanded learning policy, and develop state-level policy plans in partnership with their Statewide Afterschool Networks and the national Afterschool Alliance.

The 2013-2014 White-Riley-Peterson Policy fellows are:

Valerie Bass, Board Member, Colorado Alliance for Quality School Age Programs (Limon, Colo.)

Richard Bates, Associate Director, Young Audiences of Louisiana (New Orleans, La.)

Tim Brurud, Director, Boys & Girls Club of the Hi-Line (Havre, Mont.)

Michele Corey, Interim President and CEO, Michigan’s Children (Lansing, Mich.)

Samantha Hedges, Youth Development Associate, Voices for Illinois Children (Chicago, Ill.)

Sheila James, Program Manager, After School Counts/Educational Council (Columbus, Ohio)

Cathy Wyatt Kitts, DCEA Education Center Director, Douglas-Cherokee Economic Authority (Morristown, Tenn.)

Erica McCleskey, BOOST Director, United Way of Greenville County (Greenville, S.C.)

Joseph Morra, Project Manager, Quality Initiatives, Rhode Island Afterschool Plus Alliance, an Education Initiative of United Way of Rhode Island (Providence, R.I.)

Karen Olson, Director, Venture Youth Alliance (Fargo, N.D.)

Shawn C. Petty, Technical Assistance Manager, Edvance Research (San Antonio, Texas)

Jeff Romig, Executive Director, VOX Teen Communications (Atlanta, Ga.)

Pat Trotter, Staff Assistant-Project Manager, Kentucky Department of Education (Frankfort, Ky.)

Anna Wishart, Legislative Aide, Nebraska State Legislature (Lincoln, Neb.)

Marlene Zeug, Institutional Analyst: Office of Strategic Reform, Office of the Superintendent, Hawai’i Department of Education (Honolulu, Hawaii)

The fellowship is named for William S. White, president and CEO of the Mott Foundation; Richard W. Riley, former South Carolina governor and U.S. Secretary of Education under President Clinton; and Dr. Terry Peterson, national board chair with the Afterschool Alliance and a senior fellow at the College of Charleston. The fellowship is made possible by a $200,000 grant awarded to the Riley Institute last year by the Mott Foundation.

For more information, visit or contact Cathy Stevens at the Riley Institute, 864-294-3265 or

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Roe v Wade ruling by Supreme Court affects more than abortion rights

Furman faculty weigh in with expert perspective on health care, history, social justice, education and other aspects of the June 24 decision.

It’s a wrap: Strategic design master’s students shine in package refresh competition

Four Master of Arts in Strategic Design candidates reimagine a legacy package for The Coca-Cola Company.

Elizabeth Allen ’20 M’22 poses with her Guinness World Record-winning chain made of 10,000 Starburst wrappers.

Alum wraps up record-setting feat – link by link

Elizabeth Allen ’20 M’22 reached her goal one Starburst at a time

Bright futures, big city: Dins take on NYC for Career Treks

The Malone Center for Career Engagement organized the treks, which gave students the chance to explore the fields of finance and communications.